Tags

,

I must have made someone (or something) quite angry somewhere in the course of this week… Had a bad day of Lemony Snicket proportions. It didn’t look particularly bad from the start, just average. Like another day of waking up and lounging, something I have become rather good at…
So today I happened to be walking in the City when out of nowhere this bike appears and I get run over… Not really run over, but almost run over, which may hurt a lot less, but it leaves little room for sympathy. Smear of dirt on pants (thankfully i was not in shorts, the results may have been particularly bad-looking), twisted wrist on left arm that’s not too bad, and a gash on my right hand, which is my reach-for-things-in-my-pocket hand, as well as my hold-phone-so-that-it-doesn’t-fall hand as well… And I had to let it bleed out, being as I didn’t have tissue or wipes or anything…

Pretty accurate...

Ok, back to the scene. I’ve been hit by a bike, and I get up… Everything is telling me to make a scene. The little man was green, so I had right of way. The cars had stopped. But no, I just got up, looked confused bike man in the eye and said “What the f*#k?”…
Yes, in that one phrase, I asked him what was wrong with him, cycling like he was high on something cheap, I asked myself why I did not have at least the common sense that it would take to stay off the road till the bike passes instead of running on (I was running late for a meeting that would later be canceled… More Lemony Snicket…), I asked the people around what was so funny (yes, this warranted as a non-regular incident, so it merited an audience that expected something, starting with non-directional laughter), why in all honesty this had to happen to me (being as I’m the guy that laughs at people getting hit by bikes) and furthermore, how I had put myself in that situation, making a deliberate decision to take a long, meaningless route to pass time…
One phrase.
Maybe I’m putting more weight on it that it deserves, but in that one moment, I was the fool.
And it doesn’t help that I’m a firm believer in ‘traffic rights’… Just because you own the wheels doesn’t mean you can make everyone miserable with them…
So I have been hit by a bike. I will still laugh at stories of people being hit by bikes as well. I just got myself a genuine reason to laugh last…

